Programme Committee

Daniele Cocco
(ELETTRA, Italy)
Uwe Flechsig
(PSI, Switzerland)
Ulf Johansson
(MAXLAB, Sweden)
Mark Roper
(STFC, U.K.)
Volker Schlott
(PSI, Switzerland)
Frank Siewert
(HZB/BESSYII, Germany)
Ryszard Sobierajski
(IFPAN, Poland / FOM Rijnhuizen, The Netherlands)
Kai Tiedtke
(DESY, Germany)
Marco Zangrando
(ELETTRA, Italy)

Workshop Programme


Local organisation

Christopher Gerth
Hannah Gerth
Monika Illenseer
Barbara Keitel
Britta Niemann
Kai Tiedtke


About EuroFEL
EuroFEL is part of the ESFRI Roadmap 2008. The preparatory phase of EuroFEL (IRUVX-PP) prepares the establishment of the EuroFEL Consortium, which is a distributed Free Electron Laser facility that is going to link complementary national FEL facilities into a unique European Research Infrastructure. IRUVX-PP is funded by the European Commission under FP7.


EuroFEL Workshop on Photon Beamlines & Diagnostics

From 28-30 June our EuroFEL Workshop on Photon Beamlines & Diagnostics took place at DESY Hamburg, organised by workpackages 3 and 7 of the IRUVX-PP project.

Venue for the workshop was the FLASH Seminar Room in building 28c. The poster session took place in the foyer of DESY's main auditorium.

The workshop focused on optimised concepts for the photon beam transport of femtosecond laser-like radiation of short-wavelength FELs. This includes the metrology of optical components and advanced diagnostics for the determination of photon beam properties.
The following main topics were addressed:

  • Multilayer optics for micro focusing and as bandpass filters
  • X-ray optics - fabrication and metrology
  • Coherence preservation and wave front measurements
  • UV- and X-ray optics challenges for ultra short/ultra intense pulses
  • Photon diagnostics for FEL sources

List of invited speakers

  • Sasa Bajt (CFEL)
  • Riccardo Cucini (Sincrotrone Trieste)
  • Christian David (PSI)
  • Bart Faatz (Desy)
  • Mourad Idir (Soleil)
  • Marie Labat (Soleil)
  • Jörgen Larsson (Lund University)
  • Satoshi Matsuyama (Osaka University)
  • Stephan Möller (LCLS)
  • Luca Poletto (CNR)
  • Franz Schäfers (HZB)
  • Makina Yabashi (SCSS)
  • Valeriy Yashchuk (ALS)